Out of your comfort zone.

Hello all!, I was inspired to tell you all a story of how suddenly being out of your comfort zone can challenge you to do things you never thought you could do, or would. About a week ago I ran into an old friend from my neighborhood. It had been years since we’d seen each other and when we did we greeted each other with hugs and smiles. I will not be releasing her name due to confidential and respecting the privacy of that person. She was older than me but growing up she was that cool person who allowed you to come over her house.  We would watch movies at her house and if she was cooking we would eat dinner with her. Sometime we would babysit for her and  tag along with her while she went to this store or that store. She was more like a “big sister” or a “cousin” like some extended family to an extent. She was a single mother with two boys, as if raising two male’s to become men one day isn’t hard enough for a female to do on her own. But she worked and went to school and all of that while raising her boys. We all lived in low-income housing I was still a juvenile so I lived with my mom. Years passed and people move, relocate and sometime you lose touch.

I went back to our old neighborhood to pay her a visit thinking she was still there. Last I heard she was and the property management did some serious remodeling to the homes (they never did a bad job keeping up the property I must say) but when I went  to her house she didn’t answer the door someone else did, I was told that she moved. I was happy and sad at the same time. Fast forward years later and were at the store all smiles and hugs, so I told her I came by to see you and someone told me you had moved. She said “Yes girl, they kicked me for being 100 dollars over market rent can you believe it!” I said no. She said “but you know what? That was the best  thing they could have ever done to me.” She said “I was so scared, but I was forced to go out here and find a place I had no choice”. She said “my rent was a thousand dollars a month, and I was scared thinking Lord how am I going to do this am I going to make it?” And it pushed her to do exceedingly well for herself and her children something she never thought she could do. To top it off she is now married and living in a big, beautiful house. She said laughing “Michelle, now I have to pay a mortgage, But it was all worth it!”out of your comfort zone

And her son’s also turned out be successful as well. Sometime things can happen for reasons that we can not explain, but God knows the very reason why it’s happening we can’t see it at the moment but after a while it all comes to make sense to us as we start to piece things together. Not only that but sometimes we are so used to something that is familiar or safe to us that when we do get in situations it does make us scared, and we start to think of all the things that could go wrong instead of all the things that could go right. But God has been there all along,  we find out we’ve had it in us all along we  just needed to believe in ourselves. We are in control, more than we think more than we know.  So for those of you who may be in your comfort zone and are forced to get out. Do not give up hope. You can do it. I’m a living testimony of that as well. Which I will talk about in a later post. See you all  back here soon! ~Michelle~

Published by Michelle

God, Mom of 3, Writer, Creative Visualist, Entrepreneur.Podcast: www.anchor.fm/breakoutgirltribe Instagram: @michelle_Incorporated Twitter: Michelle Fletcher @BreakOutGIRL3

One thought on “Out of your comfort zone.

Leave a comment

WizzyKay Blog

Learning, Unlearning, Relearning

BeautyBeyondBones

Because we’re all recovering from something.

The Gastronomy Gal

all things food and nutrition

Your Financial Success

Financial advice

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.